Ancient Grain Fusion Salad

#Simple #Healthy #Plant-based  #Comfort food #Wickedly Wonderful Wednesday Lunch #Gluten Free

I love the look of salads, even more when they look as colourful as this Ancient Grain Fusion Salad.

Today has been a very odd day in my life. Is odd the right word here, Im not sure, but I have been doing things that I don’t usually do on a wednesday.

I chased the 5.45 am alarm and was awake before it buzzed.

I jumped out of bed when the alarm buzzed – surprised the snooze button there ……….

The first thing I do is climb up the step ladder and clean the ceiling fans in all the rooms. OMG…. thinking and writing about it now, I can hear my friend’s voice in my head now (haha). She can call me names but I like the look of these fans now.

Woke up hubby at 6.20 am to go for a walk with me. He agreed and jumped out of bed and got ready to go with me. We left at 6.50 am and got back from a brisk refreshing walk only at 7.50 am. The feeling was bliss though I was dripping in sweat. Sweat – the body was in shock after a long brisk walk and the temperature was 34 degrees even before 8am.

Who or  What had possessed me this morning, I don’t know. I then folded up all the washing and put them all away. I didn’t complain…… I didn’t stop at that, I emptied 4 shelves in the kitchen, dismantled the glass shelves, washed the glass panes and put them all back again.

It was then time for a cold shower – will save the part of the COLD shower for an other day’s writing. I then went shopping for veggies and surprise ….. hubby came with me as well.

When I got back from shopping and emptied my shopping bag onto the dining table, the contents that poured out of my bag was my inspiration for today’s Ancient Grain Fusion Salad.

Was the day surprising me or am I surprising myself today.

It all began with the chopping which was very theurupatic in many ways. It reminded me of my days in Auckland when a big salads like this would make very easy lunches.

A colourful salad for lunch meant that I was guaranteed to have a nutritious and hearty lunch. I would do all the chopping at night as it was calming and relaxing. Also, this is the kind of salad that tastes better the next day after the flavors have had time to marry each other. To super charge the salad I used a cup of Ancient Grain Fusion –  White & Black Quinoa + Brown and Red Rice.

I used lots of fresh mint, fresh coriander and lime juice for the dressing. I prefer to use no salt or pepper as I like to taste the veggies.

INGREDIENTS
  • 1 cup Ancient Grain Fusion
  • 1 tomato
  • 1 red capsicum
  • 1 green capsicum
  • 1 cucumber
  • 3 spheres of baby corn
  • 1 carrot
  • 1 radish
  • 1 mango

GARNISH

  • ½ cup fresh coriander leaves (loosely packed)
  • 1 cup fresh mint leaves (loosely packed)
  • lime juice (juice from 1 lime)
  • handful of raw almonds
  • 2 table spoons of pista powder
DIRECTIONS
  1. Cook and Prepare: Cook the Ancient Grain Fusion blend in 1 1/2 cups of water in a large pan (I followed the direction on the package). While the rice is cooking, chop all the vegetables into long pieces. Chop the fresh mint and coriander leaves.
  2. Assemble the Salad: Once the rice is cooked leave it to cool for 20 minutes before transferring it to a salad  bowl and adding the vegetables. Add the chopped vegetables to the salad bowl with the rice. Add the coriander and mint leaves and the lime juice to the bowl and combine all the ingredients together. Top it with the almonds and the sprinkle of pista powder.
  3. Serve: Enjoy sharing this with friends and family. If no one’s around to share, pack and store the left over for a delicious afternoon snack.
NOTE
Feel free to add in or substitute whatever vegetables you have on hand.I added everything I had at home.
Untitled
The delicious and nutritious Ancient Grain Fusion Salad was not only bursting with Summer flavours, it was loaded with all goodness.The perfect lunch for today. I enjoyed this with hubby and his friend.

If you do try this Ancient Grain Fusion Salad, please make my day and let me know about it. 

Its 11.15 pm and I’m still up full of energy and writing this and enjoying it. This wickedly wonderful wednesday has been a very long one, feels accomplished and fruitful. Goodnight  for now.

Much Love XX

Leave a Reply

