Ordinary

Ordinary. This is being without any special or distinctive features, being normal.

An ordinary march afternoon, with the temperature rising to reach 34 degrees. It  was spent with a cousin visiting town. we made it special with our laughter and reminiscing about the childhood we spent together.

The oldest amongst 5 kids from an extended family I was the tallest. This didn’t last long.  I have an ordinary height and the shortest amongst the 5 of us today.

I was the first one to be able to find a way to climb onto to the wall which supported my feet to crawl up to the fruit tree on the side yard. I would pick the ones that I could get my hands to reach and fill my pockets with them. Crawling back down, I would share it with the  ones who would look up to me as I had just done what they could not get up.That didn’t last long either.

One late afternoon I managed to get my neck stuck between the fork of 2 branches and my mom couldn’t get up the tree to free my neck and get me down. I positioned myself to comfort and waited patiently till my dad came home in the evening and got me down. This was just one of many afternoons which I have spent either on the terrace collecting baby coconuts or on the fruit trees that surround our house on all sides.

It was on another summer afternoon that I hired a bicycle and tried to teach myself how to cycle. I fell off it and that caused my world to crash. Staring at the scar on leg now, I am smiling, remembering that ordinary afternoon.

During one summer break, my aunt who was spending the summer with us, drew water out from the well in our backyard and poured it on my head. She must have done it to entertain or amuse me or to cool me down in the heat. Whatever was her intention, I will never know. What I cannot forget is the cold water running down my back and the shivers of excitement it sent up to my brain. I smile to myself thinking about this every time I rush in and get under the shower before the hot water can reach and I get a drizzle of cold water on my back.

These are bits and pieces of the ordinary childhood moments that have stuck with me to make my childhood extra ordinary in many ways.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/Ordinary

 

2 thoughts on “Ordinary

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

