Climbing

Climb is to go up, or to go towards the top of something.

Seeking adventure on a sunday morning with cell phones in hand, my sister and I left home not having a plan in place and no idea what the day was going to be like.We  jumped on the tram and reached the Geneva Cornavin Train station. We bought tickets to Lausanne and enjoyed the peaceful, inviting and ever-changing scenery on the 40 minute train to Lausanne.

We walked to the city centre from the train station after a brief photo session outside the train station. Walking past the very, very old enchanting old town with narrow cobblestone roads, hidden courtyards that could be glimpsed through archways and tiny alleyways we got on a bus. We didn’t have a destination in mind but enjoyed the views that had been the settlement since Roman times, and a city of note since medieval ones.

We got off when the bus stopped somewhere near what looked like a forest. We had no idea where we were and didn’t know where we were heading. I felt so insignificant surrounded by the wonders of nature literally in the middle of nowhere. We didn’t have any cell phone reception and I just followed my sister and she followed her heart and kept walking forward. Lausanne is built on three hills, so there were steep uphill and downhills in most directions. After enjoying the sounds and sights of nature for about 20 minutes, we reached Tour de Sauvabelin. That is when we realised where we were.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The Tour de Sauvabelin (literally “Tower of Sauvabelin”) is a wooden tower located in the Sauvabelin forest, Lausanne, Switzerland. The tower was built in 2003 and is 35 meters high.

I am not a keen walker like my sister but on this trip to Geneva, I have walked more than what I had in my entire life earlier. Climbing the tower was killing but when I had reached the top, it was well worth the effort of climbing the 151 steps of this very pretty wooden spiral staircase. The panoramic view was of the city of Lausanne, the Lake Léman and the surrounding countryside and mountains.

This climb taught me to never miss any other climb. The award from the top dwarfed all the pain and uncertainty that I had, standing at the base of tower before I started the climb. One of the best times I have had with my sister. I called her to share, to talk and laugh about the lovely time we had together before writing about it here.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/Climbing

One thought on “Climbing”

Leave a Reply

